Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät - SFB 1109

Bestowal of the Edith Flanigen Award 2018

The collaborative research center 1109 has bestowed the Edith Flanigen Award 2018 to Dr. Ellen Matson, University of Rochester, USA.


Academic BackgroundMatson.jpg

Dr. Ellen Matson studied chemistry and science education at Boston University, graduating, with honors, in 2009. Her PhD work was conducted in the laboratory of Suzanne C. Bart at Purdue University, where she studied the synthesis, characterization and reactivity of low valent uranium alkyl complexes. Following completion of her degree in 2013, Dr. Matson moved to the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, where she conducted postdoctoral research in the laboratory of Alison R. Fout investigating the design of redox-active secondary coordination spheres for the activation of small molecules. For her excellence in graduate and postdoctoral research, Dr. Matson was awarded the Iota Sigma Pi Anna Louise Hoffman Award for Outstanding Achievement in Graduate Research (2013) and the American Chemical Society Division of Inorganic Chemistry Young Investigator Award (2014). In 2015, Dr. Matson started her independent career at the University of Rochester, where she is currently an assistant professor. In 2017, Dr. Matson was named the recipient of a NSF CAREER Award. More recently, in 2018 she was recognized in the Chemical Communications Early Investigator Issue and with a Course Hero Woodrow Wilson Fellowship for Excellence in Teaching.

Abb. Ellen Matson

Research Interests

In her research, Dr. Matson investigates the synthesis and characterization of heterometallic metal-oxide clusters, combining her training in redox-active inorganic complexes with new directions in self-assembly synthesis in metal oxide clusters. Her interests primarily lie in the development of new molecules for applications in energy storage and the production of chemical fuels, specifically understanding how heterometallic structures can work cooperatively to mediate multielectron transformations.



The award winner was honored at the 10th of October 2018 in the Akademie Berlin-Schmöckwitz. The celebrating lecture was held by Prof. Ruth Signorell, ETH Zurich.



Abb. Xenia Krüger